Rebecca Miller, Senior of the Week

One of this week’s featured seniors is… Rebecca Miller!

Rebecca joined SAA at the beginning of her sophomore year. She quickly took on leadership roles, chairing the community service committee twice. During her junior year, she served on the executive board as the Vice President of Events. She worked with SAA and other student groups to put on events such as the Mayor of Huntington Avenue competition and Snowball. During that year she got to sit on the Homecoming Committee and also plan monthly social events for SAA members. Rebecca was invited to attend two D1 conferences – at the University of Massachusetts in 2010 and at Worcester Polytechnic Institute in 2012, for which she presented an education session.

Thank you for all the effort and time you have put into SAA over the past four years! We will miss you!

Senior of the Week Rebecca Miller (second from left in most photos)

Senior of the Week Rebecca Miller (second from left in most photos)

Age: 23

Hometown: Marlton,  NJ

Major: Behavioral Neuroscience and Philosophy

Co-ops: The Department of Veteran’s Affairs’ War Related Illness and Injury Center in NJ, working on six different farms/properties through WWOOF New Zealand

When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?
I don’t know the ages, but the first job I remember ever telling my parents I wanted to pursue was an archeologist because it meant I would get payed to play in dirt. The next career choice I can remember was a lawyer, because I would get paid to argue and I liked to argue with my older siblings.

What is your favorite ’90s TV show?
All the shows on TGIF and Daria.

If you had a jet to take you anywhere in the world, what would your first stop be?
I’ve been eyeing up India more and more, so probably there.

What are five things every Northeastern student should cross off their bucket list?
1. Kayak on the Charles River.
2. Adventure beyond Boston. There are so many cool places to see and eat at! In the early fall, Christmas season, and late spring, keep an eye out for local festivals – it’s a great way to explore.
3. Go to Southie for the St. Patrick’s Day Parade.
4. Crash a rooftop party.
5. Take full advantage of the million international opportunities Northeastern has for you!!!

How has SAA contributed to your Northeastern experience?
SAA has really made up the bulk of my Northeastern experience. Through this awesome group I met some of my best friends, learned a lot about the university, met a ton of new people, got to network, dip my hands in event planning… the list can continue. 

How do you hope to give back to the Northeastern community as an alumna?
I’m excited to be an active alumni after seeing all the ways they can give back! I’ve made my senior gift already and once in a better position career-wise I would love to one day mentor or give advice to some students coming through a similar path I did. Maybe I can convince my hospital to have co-ops too.

Leave a Reply

