Brad West, Senior of the Week

This week’s featured senior is… Brad West!

Brad joined SAA as a sophomore during the fall 2009 semester. Since then, Brad has been the chair and moderator of 5 Under 25 for the College of Engineering twice. He also served as the chair of the Mayor of Huntington Avenue competition and moderated the debate. In 2011, Brad attended District 1 Conference at the University of Connecticut.

We will miss your enthusiasm, charm, and public speaking finesse! Thank you, Brad!

Senior of the Week Brad West

Senior of the Week Brad West, center, with fellow seniors Darren Mahoney and Rebecca Miller.

Age: 23

Hometown: New Milford, CT

Major: Chemical Engineering

Co-ops: Nuvera Fuel Cells; 1366 Technologies Inc.; Nanomanetism Lab, Northeastern University; Robert Bosch GmbH, Stuttgart, Germany

What else are you involved in at Northeastern?
Aside from SAA, I helped start NU Science Magazine my freshman year. I am a member of NoLimits Dance Crew and a campus tour guide for Husky Ambassadors.

When you were five, what did you want to be when you grew up?
When I was little wanted to be a lawyer, needless to say that was a short lived phase after I discovered my inner geek.

Favorite ’90s TV show?
My favorite ’90s TV show was without a doubt Boy Meets World. It is still the best show ever made. 

What is something that everyone in SAA might not know about you?
When I was little I thought the words to “Don’t go chasing waterfalls” were “go go Jason water faucet.”

Boloco or Qdoba?
BOLOCO BOLOCO BOLOCO! I love my freebies. 

List five things that every Northeastern student should cross of their bucket list.
1. Summer Dialogue 
2. Try anything and everything you might be interested in
3. Watch or join everyone who jumps in the reflecting pool after any major win (sports/president/etc.)
4. Late night BHOP
5. Go to a hockey game

How has SAA contributed to your Northeastern experience?
SAA has been a huge part of my NU experience since sophomore year when I joined. It was not only a great group of new friends but also helped me land my favorite co-op through the 5 Under 25 program.

How do you hope to give back to the Northeastern community as an alumnus?
As an alumnus I hope to continue to be actively involved with NU students through events like 5 Under 25, providing co-op opportunities or advising. And, funds permitting, it would be great to have a scholarship fund to help students in need.

Leave a Reply

